Social Innovators Programme and Awards

The Social Innovators Programme and Awards is an offshoot of LEAP’s Annual Youth Leadership Award (ANYLA) which since 2004 has been a platform for recognizing the efforts of outstanding young Nigerians, who have distinguished themselves by making positive impact in community development. To date, 65 change makers have been recognized and supported through the ANYLA.

On November 11, 2013 LEAP Africa inducted 20 young social innovators into the Social Innovators Programme. LEAP’s SIP is an initiative developed in partnership with YouthActionNet®; a programme of the International Youth Foundation (IYF), a nonprofit organization supporting youth development programs in 80 countries. The SIP joins the YouthActionNet® global network now comprising 16 national/regional youth leadership institutes across the world. SIP seeks to identify, develop and support young Nigerians who are addressing social challenges in their communities through creative and sustainable solutions. It also enhances the chance of the Nigerian young social innovators to apply to YouthActionNet® Global Laureate Fellowship.

These 20 young social innovators have distinguished themselves as ‘gap-dwellers’ by addressing social challenges in their communities through creative and sustainable solutions.

The 2013 LEAP Africa’s Social Innovators Fellows are young, dynamic and visionary Nigerian contributing to the development of their communities and country. They are initiators of high impact community development projects with potential for their initiatives to expand its reach. Their initiatives range from empowering women and girl child, improving education and providing scholarships to children in underserved areas, promoting peaceful youth co-existence in northern region, and creating mobile jobs apps. Meet the 2013 Fellows!


banner SIPA

 LEAP is hosting SIPA 2014 on November 13 and invites you to attend. Register for FREE here NOW.

KEYNOTE SPEAKER- Mr. Alex Okosi, Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks.



Alex Okosi is Senior Vice-President and Managing Director of Viacom International Media Networks Africa (VIMNA), formerly MTV Networks Africa. He also held positions at Viacom divisions in New York and Los Angeles before moving to London to join the International Strategy and Business Development team in 2003.

In 2005, Okosi launched MTV Base, the company's first localized MTV service for Africa. Over the last eight years, he has been responsible for building and driving the growth of a multimedia portfolio of VIMN brands in Africa, encompassing MTV, VH1 Classic, Nickelodeon, Comedy Central and BET. Okosi is a staunch champion of African music, kids' and youth culture, creating programming, events and initiatives that showcase the best of Africa's talent and creativity.

He is also the driving force behind numerous VIMNA campaigns that motivate, empower and educate young Africans. Okosi is a graduate of St Michael's College, Vermont, where he graduated magna cum laude with a double major in Business Administration and Economics. 



LEAP Africa Social Innovators Programme and Awards 2014 is supported by:

Logo Collage



Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards
The Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards (ANYLA) was launched in 2004 to recognize and support the contributions of young people under 30 years to Nigeria’s development. There are outstanding youth who have taken initiative to improve the livelihood of the disadvantaged or those living in underserved areas. These are ordinary people who deserve recognition and support to increase their impact beyond their local communities.
Since 2004, LEAP Africa has celebrated 65 young people aged 18-29 years on the ANYLA platform which has provided local and international opportunities for the recipients.

Babatunde David, 8th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards recipient says this of the ANYLA ‘I felt highly ecstatic and honoured receiving Nigeria's biggest youth recognition award.’

David is the founder of Youth for Generating Change (YGC) Africa, an organization that works with youth in Nigeria and Ghana to promote moral values and encourage youth participation in national issues. He engages young people in essay competitions, forums and educates them using his published editorials.


2011 Winners - Meet the winners of the 8th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards

2010 Winners - Meet the winners of the 7th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards

2009 Winners - Meet the ten winners of the 6th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards

Winners from 2008-2006

Winners of 5th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards

1.Adeleke Olatunbosun - Organic Waste
2.Agbonfioror Edison - Edisco Music International
3.Ejekwumadu John  - Udonglasi Foundation
4.Maaji Nura  - VET Initiative
5.Messan Lanre  - Green Yaggy
6.Oseni Ibrahim  - Youth Educational Empowerment Programme
7.Owoeye Babatunde  - Phoster Foundation
8.Sam-Emuwa Ifesinachi  - Treasureland Health Builders Initiative
9.Shetan Segun  - Brave Heart Entertainment Kulture
10.Usung Emem  - Dewspring International

Winners of 4th Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards

1. Abiodun Ajijola - CGCMIE Consulting
2. Toyosi Akerele  - RISE Networks
3. Aminat Alli  - Positive Youth Initiative Nigeria
4. Emilia Asim-Ita  - YOUTHTALK
5. Amina Cephas  - Action for Conceptual Change
6. Johne Elile   -  Anti AIDS Campus Crew
7. Olubunmi Jegede - Empower Girls, Fight AIDS
8. Kunle Odeyemi  - Youth Action Initiative
9. Ayo Oluwaluyi  - Youth Liberation Movement
10.Gbenga Sesan - Paradigm Initiative Nigeria

Winners of 3rd Annual Nigerian Youth Leadership Awards
1. Abubakar Abdulganiyu A  - Save the Child Initiative
2. Ailoje Kemi  -  Divine Ambassadors Foundation
3. Alebiosu Oluwakayode  - Festac Breed Magazine and YEEPA Programme
4. Bewaji Joy -  Festac Breed Magazine and YEEPA Programme
5. Etuk Dominic Monday - Sickle Cell Awareness Campaign and Project Help Africa
6. Etuka Chukwunweike - Will 2 Survive
7. Idris Abdullahi  - Club 25
8. Nome Ndidiamaka  - Nightingales
9. Ofem Grace Okoi - Initiatives for Peoples' Good Health
10.Onyejike Adaobi Blessing - Girl Child Art Foundation